Come and visit the Saint-Ours Canal National Historic Site! You will discover:
- A modern lock with its dam
- The Vianney-Legendre multi-species fishway ladder
- Île Darvard with its enchanting landscape
- Woodland groomed walkways on the island allow visitors to observe the wildlife and the flora of the site.
- Picnic areas and pleasure boat observation areas are at different locations.
The Superintendant's House has an exhibit on canals. Inaugurated in 1849, the Saint-Ours Canal, together with the Chambly Canal bridges the last navigation obstacle between the St. Lawrence River and Lake Champlain. The Saint-Ours Canal, also called the tenth lock of the Richelieu River is situated on Île Darvard and was indispensible to international commerce for almost a century.
To find out more about the Saint-Ours Canal National Historic Site, visit the exhibit at the Superintendant's House and the Vianney-Legendre multi-species fishway ladder
and the dam that regulates the Richelieu River's water levels. Discover the wildlife and the flora and the history of the Saint-Ours Canal.
Dimensions of the lock: 99.06 m (325 ft) x 12.04 m (39 ft)
Height: 8.84 m (29 ft)
Draught: 3.66 m (12 ft)
Web site : parccanada.gc.ca/canaux
Follow us on Twitter : twitter.com/canauxquebec